The Deans of Downtown - 405 Magazine

The Deans of Downtown

Downtown OKC’s 30th Dean A. McGee Awards


They aren’t governors or mayors or public officials, but they’ve each spent decades making the community stronger and more outstanding – and they’re about to get some of the recognition they’re due in the 30th annual Dean A. McGee Awards. Presented by Downtown OKC, Inc., the awards honor outstanding contributions to the heart of the city, making Klay Kimker, Francy Palmer and Mickey Clagg ideal recipients.

The black-tie ceremony and dinner takes place June 1 at the Skirvin Hilton: Kimker will receive the Dean A. McGee Award for his lifetime contributions to downtown, the Stanley Draper Award will be given to volunteer Palmer for her efforts in community excellence and development visionary Mickey Clagg will receive the Neal Horton Award for the renaissance of a downtown area.

“The three honorees this year are unique in their behind-the-scenes efforts to making downtown a place for everyone,” says 2016 co-chair James Pickel. “They have helped create vibrant areas for people to congregate and a downtown that all Oklahoma City residents are proud to call home.”

(left) Mickey Clagg (right) Klaholt Kimker

Co-chair Kari Watkins adds, “The awards are named after three leaders who shaped and molded downtown for us today. This year’s honorees exemplify the same spirit as they have diligently worked in developing a city that will serve future generations.”

Event proceeds help to fund public art and other downtown improvement projects. Advance reservations are required; to purchase tickets or get more information, call 235.3500 or visit